Michael Chabala on Charity Involvement

10Jan12
A few posts ago I wrote about my friend Sarah Aghili-fashion entrepreneur and philantropist. She mentioned her friend MLS player Michael Chabala of the Portland Timbers (previously played for the Houston Dynamos) got her involved with local charities, I wanted to know a little more, so I asked Michael a few questions  and here’s what he had to say.
Michael Chabala:
I make kids smile. I bring them what a doctor can’t and that sometimes means more. Myself and a fleet of other dedicated professionals stood up against pediatric cancer about six years ago.
Making new friends in Houston was easy and they happened to be Doctors, nurses and patients from the Houston medical district. We joined in the efforts to help the cost for those families. In honor of some good friends we lost to cancer we took things to a new level creating CCCF (Curing Children’s Cancer Fund). Under that charity we have different events that help the cause. My event Bald is Beautiful  is a unified event with the fans and players. We identify with our friends battling cancer by shaving our heads and raising money for pediatric cancer research. Now that I’ve been traded it is time to move this event on to Portland. We also do a very big soccer camp every off season called Kicking Children’s Cancer Soccer Camp. It has been a great event and is run by Glenn Davis who is a national soccer figure in MLS and the Houston area.
I’m motivated by the passing of my friends and standing up for good. I’ve been given a platform to help others and I’m going to take advantage of it.
I have a big heart and have always wanted to do more  not only with my life but with charitable work. I don’t seek accolades or attention just results and I’ll do whatever it takes. It was hard moving to a new city to continue the surge I had built up in Houston for 6 years but I’m looking forward to the challenge.

I’ve worked with tons of different charities from mine CCCF to Big Brother & Big Sisters and also Sunshine kids and other intercity organizations in Houston and California.

Stay tuned to Michael Chabala’s twitter @Chabala4 for the latest.

Charity always RocksMyStyle! Start off the new year right and become involved with a local charity!

Peace & Love.

No Responses Yet to “Michael Chabala on Charity Involvement”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

