Sarah Aghili the Philanthropist

03Dec11

I previously wrote about a friend of mine Sarah Aghili. This is the other side of Sarah’s world.

Sarah exudes fashion, fun and a love for humanity. The 25 year old philanthropist is involved with many different charities and organizations to raise awareness for common issues.

Sarah’s latest collaboration is Falling Whistles. Falling Whistles is a campaign for peace in Congo.

Falling Whistles gives a small window into our world’s largest war. Young boys are sent to the frontlines of war armed with only a whistle. The Falling Whistles campaign launched with a simple response– make their weapon your voice and be a whistleblower for peace in Congo!

Here’s what Sarah had to say:

“I became involved in Falling whistles when I saw their story online, after I purchased my whistle I felt I needed to do more, I wanted to get involved; so I reached out to design with them, David Lewis(founder of fw) is who I communicated with for a long time, they are based in LA and such a nice group of boys. Beyonce, Ciara, Chad Micheal Murray, Jessica Biel, Jon Stewart, and Gwyneth Paltrow all wear and support the cause!”

(Sarah’s favorite whistle is the gold limited edition.)

We also collaborated together to come up with this harmonica, another form of noise where 50% off the proceeds go to falling whistles. We are looking forward to working together to make some one of the kind whistles to auction off for the cause! One of the biggest gifts you can give yourself is challenge, growth is prompted by challenge and achievement comes from challenge. SarahAghili.com is the best risk I ever took in my life. The next charity I am very involved with is one very close to my heart. BALD IS BEAUTIFUL. I teamed up with my friend who played soccer for the Houston Dynamo, now the Portland Timbers, who is very active in this cause; we would go visit Texas childrens hospital together and he would light up the kids faces, he truly has a heart of gold, it would make the kids days when they saw him, then he brought me and they loved me too! He shaves his head and teamates hair every year for the cause and raises thousands of dollars for the kids! The bracelet is a unisex leather bracelet and 100% of the proceeds go to bald is beautiful! Heres a little about it…. Mike Chabala is teaming up with families of pediatric cancer patients in support of the Curing Children’s Cancer Fund. Chabala and some of his teammates will shave their heads as part of the annual Bald is Beautiful fundraising event and they are not the only ones. In addition Mike has teamed up with SarahAghili.com to create this bracelet! Bald is Beautiful raises money for the Curing Children’s Cancer Fund. This organization funds research to find treatments and cures for pediatric cancer. The physican-researchers are located in Houston, but the results of their work is shared globally. You can read more about this fund at their website: http://www.cccfund.org.

A young girl Claire inspired me to produce bracelets to create awareness and funds for Down Syndrome; she expressed to me what an important cause this is and that her sister has Down Syndrome. As a team we can all help Claire to fulfill her goal of raising awareness and create funds for Down Syndrome. 50% of the profits will be donated to the Down Syndrome Aim High Resource Center (DSAHRC), the association that Claire and her family are involved with. … I thanked Claire who is only 11 for inspiring me and we still keep in touch and every time I see an order from my site from her, I smile and its really touching, to be able to affect people by doing really nothing at all is really amazing.

In addition to these wonderful charities Sarah is involved with HATCH (Houston Area Teen Coalition of Homosexuals),  Autism Awareness, Lucky Rescue,  Green Peace, Amnesty International situation and try to make a difference.

Sometimes we cannot do great things, but we can do small things with GREAT love…

4 Responses to “Sarah Aghili the Philanthropist”

  1. I love this. What a giving, caring person.

  2. i love this xoxo

  3. LOVE IT and I missa youuu


  1. 1 Michael Chabala on Charity Involvement « RocksMyStyle

Leave a Reply

