Artist Interview: Caroline Schiller

15Jun11

A Q & A with Houston artist Caroline Schiller:

1) When did you discover your creative talents?

            Well, mine was a very untraditional experience. I’ve always loved drawing and making art but never truly pursued it. I focused on other things in school (majored in French, minored in Art History) but then as soon as I graduated college, while I was trying to figure out with to do with my life, I just started drawing and painting. I was working at my parents restaurants and applying to graduate school for psychology but during my free time I would just go buy canvases at Texas Art and paint on them. I had no idea what I was doing but I just did it anyways because I had a very natural desire to. That’s basically how it started! My family owns restaurants in Houston so when they saw my paintings, they asked if I could “just make one for this wall that needs more color” and of course I would do them for free. Then people started noticing them… and then that led to my first show…and it’s pretty much been a snowball effect since then! Also once I started getting more confident about my work, I started trying a lot harder and experimenting with more challenging paintings, like realism and surrealism. As I figured out I could do that and people saw that I could do anything I started getting more shows, more commissions, etc. It’s been a really interesting ride but I honestly could not be happier with my life right now. If I can continue to keep making it as an artist, it will be like a dream come true.

 2) If you’re not painting what are some of your hobbies.

            I run a lot, I love going to the beach, going out with friends, traveling. Anything new and different! My boyfriend and I just got a new puppy so since I work from home and he doesn’t, that has been taking up an incredible amount of my time lately!

 3) What artist’s work inspires you the most and why?

            Since I studied Art History, I’ve always loved all the classics, of course. Monet, especially. I love all the impressionists and I love Dali because I think surrealism is an incredible feat as an artist. It’s the hardest genre I’ve tried because it’s truly mind-bending. But that’s what I love about it- being able to create something that doesn’t exist in the life that we know as humans.

            As far as modern day artists, I love Chloe Early and Ali Miller. Oh and I’m unhealthily obsessed with Banksy. I think he is an absolute genius and his work makes me want to cry, it’s so good.  

 4) Do you think of what you’re going to paint and plan it out or do you just start painting?

            Half and half. When I’m doing commissions, obviously I have to sit down and control the painting, because I have to channel what my client is paying me for.

However, besides that, the way I think of my painting is that I’m not really in control of it, but instead it controls me. I never know what is going to inspire me or what my next painting will look like. I’ll just get the inspiration and it leads me through a painting. Even if something goes wrong, like if I accidentally drop paint somewhere where I wasn’t meaning to, I’ll just think “Oh, ok I guess that was meant to be”.

5) What inspires you to keep going and how do you keep yourself motivated?

            It’s hard, because like I said, I feel like I’m not entirely in control. But I just have to keep pushing myself, keep doing new things and looking for inspiration everywhere. I try to take lots of pictures and just keep my mind open to anything. Read a lot, watch movies, travel, do crazy things, anything.

 6) How do you bridge the gap of the business side of art?

            This is the hardest thing for me because I love painting so much. Creating a piece of art that I am completely satisfied with is my ultimate passion. So when I have to turn around and put a price on it, I am lost. Also when someone actually wants to buy my art, I am so honored that I feel bad even charging them for it, because I just did it out of my own passion. But the only thing that drives me to be able to bridge that gap is being completely broke and realizing that money is essential. Also the realization that if I want to do this for the rest of my life, I have to make a career out of it and the only way to do that is to incorporate it into a business. If I just had unlimited amounts of money like Paris Hilton or something, that would be a whole other story.

 7) Describe yourself in 5 words.

            Haha, I just asked my boyfriend to give me 5 words that describes me and he said “Drugs, sex, rock and roll. That’s 5”.

No but on a serious note, I would say: Overemotional, impulsive, empathetic, slightly insane, determined.

8) Any advice for aspiring artists?

            Yes, so much. Go for it! Don’t think about what anyone else thinks, otherwise that will completely repress your true creativity. Also, it is a long, hard struggle but if you keep at it, don’t get frustrated and be savvy with the business side of it, you will go far.

 9) oil or acrylic?

            I started with oil but now I do pretty much only acrylic. I love it because I am very impulsive and impatient and I just don’t like waiting for it to dry for very long. Also, I feel like in the art world, oil is held as the more superior medium, but I feel that I can do just as much with acrylic as I can with oil.

For more info on Caroline Schiller’s work go to www.CarolineSchiller.com

-Thank you Caroline and we hope to keep seeing your work progress and all over the place!-

One Response to “Artist Interview: Caroline Schiller”

  1. This has made my day. I wish all posnitgs were this good.


Leave a Reply

